Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Wah, I’m allergic!

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on December 15, 2007

I’ve never been allergic to anything in my life, and on Monday, I discovered I was allergic to something at my mom’s house. At first, I thought it must be her cats–but we have cats, and I’ve never had a problem with them. My mom’s house is the house I lived in for all but a few years of my life, so it seemed unlikely I was suddenly allergic to her carpet or whatever. I didn’t sneeze too much, but my nose was itching horribly, and I was making candy (chocolate-covered cherries), and couldn’t stop every few seconds to rub my nose. It was awful!

But I went back to her house a couple of days ago, and didn’t have anything near like I had had before–and the cats were there, too. I couldn’t figure it out! Then it dawned on me–it must be the cherries.  😦

Apparently, they don’t cause any problems if I just eat them, but if I touch cherries and then touch my face (especially my nose), it sets my nose to itching big-time.

The good news is, I can still eat mom’s delicious home-made chocolate-covered cherries….I just have to wash my hands afterwards. The better news is, I can’t be pressed into service making them any more! 🙂

*UPDATE*

The allergy is definitely to the food coloring in the cherries, which is red dye #40. (I figured it out because it’s the coloring used in liquid food coloring, which I diluted and touched to my face, and started itching.) You can go to red40.com for a comprehensive listing of foods with this additive in it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] figured out a few months ago, that I’m allergic to red dye #40–it makes my nose itch, if I get the dye on my hands on touch my nose. [I also […]


Leave a Reply

