Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Precocious child?

Posted in children by Kathy on January 18, 2008

My 19-month-old son is wanting to potty-train. Blows my mind! I’m all for it, don’t get me wrong, but I’m completely flummoxed!

The other day, he was watching his big (3/y/o) brother go potty, and then he tried to climb up on the potty–which he can do, because he’s a climber. I started to pull him off, and then on a lark asked him if he wanted to go pee-pee in the potty. He smiled really big, so I pulled his diaper off and put him on….and he went. And today he did it again! Twice!! I’m going to have to train myself to get him on the potty, because I’d love to be done with diapers within a few months!

One thing that’s really weird to me, is that this evening what he did was get my attention by being bad (this particular time was the old squeeze his body between my legs and the sink while I’m washing dishes–one of his favorites). At first, I started to reprimand him, and then decided to ask if he wanted to go potty. He smiled, and headed for the bathroom, pausing a few times only to make sure I was still following him. By the time he got on the potty, his dipe was wet, but he still managed to squeeze a few drops out!

So now I’m going to have to first ask if he wants to go potty before assuming that he’s just being a brat. He’s trying to communicate, but I don’t speak his language! I have to learn!

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

