Kathy Petersen’s Blog

“My God Wouldn’t Do That”–Who is Your God?

Posted in Bible, Christianity by Kathy on January 29, 2008

It amazes me that so many people call themselves Christians, but don’t believe the Bible. Perhaps I’ve been a bit too insulated in my world (I’m not complaining, by any means!), but the statement “My God wouldn’t do that” sounds foreign to my ears. I’ve heard it in many different ways, by different people, in different settings–my aunt was probably the first person I heard in person say it; but many people on the internet and my email groups will say this from time to time. This statement makes me wonder, just who is your god anyway?

Usually when people say “My god wouldn’t do that,” they are objecting to something that is in the Bible–prohibitions against homosexual behavior, women in leadership positions at church, the death penalty, sending people to hell, etc. If their god isn’t the God of the Bible, then who is their god? They will say they believe the Bible….just not certain parts of it. My aunt said she believed that the Bible as it was originally written was God’s absolute truth, but that “through the centuries” people had added in their own prejudices to it. She said, “I don’t believe Paul wrote that.” Another person through email said that she didn’t think it was God’s will that anybody be disempowered (meaning, I suppose, that women are expressly forbidden to teach in the church). So, who is her god, then?

If you say you are a Christian, then you are bound to believe the Bible; and if you believe the Bible, then you must act on it (otherwise it is not true believe, just mental acknowledgement). Why do you believe parts of the Bible and not other parts? Deists of the 18th century believed the Bible….just not the parts that showed God interacting with His creation, especially the miracles. They believed in “The Watch-maker God”–that is, that God set up the universe with certain rules, like winding a clock, and then let it go on its own. Why did they cut out the miracles? Because they were “Enlightened” and only believed in the natural, because the supernatural was beyond reason. Do you believe the miracles of the Bible, but not the prohibitions against homosexual behavior? Who is your god?

“Well, I believe that God is love, and God wants me to be happy, and [doing this] makes me happy.” Does God want you to be happy? Or does He want you to be joyful, and give Him glory? What if you found your happiness in molesting little children? Some people do (in some sick, twisted way). Are pedophiles allowed to do whatever they want, just because they get pleasure and gratification from it? “Well, that’s sick. I’m not a pedophile, I just…..” But what does the Bible say? “Well, I don’t like what the Bible says there, and I don’t think that’s right, so I don’t think it was what God originally said.” I encourage you to read Josh McDowell’s Evidence that Demands a Verdict, for a fuller explanation of the accuracy of the Bible as we know it (among other things, it states that almost every verse in the New Testament exists apart from the texts, in collections of letters and sermons and things from the early centuries).

The problem is not with the Bible, the problem is with people who don’t want to believe the Bible and obey it. They call themselves Christians, but they have sex outside of marriage, and have abortions, but think the death penalty is murder, and allow women preachers, and allow homosexuals to remain in the church and even to be preachers, bishops, etc. And all because “My god wouldn’t do that.” Psalm 50:21 says, “….you thought I was altogether as yourself…..” When people alter the Bible to suit their own preconceived notions, they bring God down to their level, so that they have a deity whom they can understand, and even control. This god is like a doting old grandfather letting his rambunctious grandchildren do generally whatever they want, because he just can’t bring himself to punish them. That is not the God of the Bible. This god is more like the ancient deities of the pagan and heathen cultures–a god of their own imagination.

In Joshua 24:15, we read this familiar passage, “….as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” But often, we don’t read the rest of the verse: “And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” In other words, if you’re not going to serve God (the one true and living God), then it doesn’t really matter who you do serve. So, who is your God?

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maranatha777p said, on January 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Amen and amen!!! What life boils down to is not what makes us happy but what we did with Jesus! We are either going to heaven or to hell. The one who does not believe this will one day awaken and his eyes will be trying to focus in the utter darkness that consumes all. Jesus said that there would be weeping and gnashing of teeth there. The pain of burning will be all over the body and there will be no reprieve. There will be no way out. There will be no end because the unsaved will be burning in hell for all eternity. It is sad that one would take a chance with where they will spend eternity. I have read several of Josh McDowell’s books. Excellent author! I love the way you write! Very clear – very direct. I pray that someone will come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ through the efforts of those who are bold enough to proclaim it!

    God bless!

    Kate


Leave a Reply

