Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Politics

Posted in abortion, politics by Kathy on February 5, 2008

Ah, yes, “Super Tuesday.” The blogs are all popping about political things, I’m sure. If the lead-up to today has been any clue, it’s going to be a very interesting Presidential race, with lots of mud-slinging and posturing….but what else is new?

Recently, I’ve read a couple of posts from Christians and non-Christians that wonder out loud how Christians should vote, or why we pay so much attention to a candidate’s position on abortion or homosexual “unions” or “marriage”, to the exclusion of everything else….. yet I’m sure there are as many posts (if not more) from proponents of abortion and/or homosexual marriage who are single-issue voters, and no one thinks to question their logic on that. But of course, Christians make their decisions based on their religion, which is offensive and scary to some who would rather believe that they are making their decisions based on their brilliance, with great logic and thought, and coming to the best answer based on just themselves, without any outside influence. As if that’s a better method of reaching a decision.

But the recurring theme has basically been, “How do Christians justify voting for a candidate [or supporting our current President] just because he is pro-life, regardless of how he views the other issues?” Each person will have to answer that question for himself. For me, it would be absolutely immoral to vote for someone who thinks it is perfectly fine for a mother to kill the baby that is in her womb. Do these supporters of abortion not realize that a live baby is sucked out of the womb in pieces? or else that the sterile amniotic fluid surrounding, supporting, and protecting the baby is drained and a high-saline solution is put in, chemically burning the baby to death? (Click on the “Abortion Facts” link over on the right for more info.) Back when Rudy Giuliani was the front-runner, I declared that if he won the Republican nomination, I could not vote for him (and of course, all of the Democratic contenders were pro-abortion). Mitt Romney’s “pro-life conversion” does not sit well with me–I think it’s fake, to be blunt; and I think he’s too liberal in most other things. Mike Huckabee is strongly pro-life, but I’m afraid he will govern too liberally. Ron Paul isn’t strong enough against abortion, which bothers me, but I daresay he’s pretty good on most other things. The fact that he side-steps the issue by saying he’s against it but thinks it’s a state’s-rights issue is bothersome. If he’s against abortion because it is murder, then how can that be a state’s-rights issue? The right to life is in the Constitution, the document which he seems to revere above all else. It would be very interesting if he became President, to see what all he would veto….but I’m not sure all of his strategies and idealized Constitutionalism would work very well in the world in which we live. We are a global society now. What happens on the other side of the globe does matter, and does affect us. We cannot be Neville Chamberlain while Hitlers assume power, and we just sit and wait for them to attack us even though they’ve already taken over several other countries. As far as John McCain, I’ll have to read up more on him; I’m afraid he’s generally too liberal for me. Honestly, I didn’t think he’d have much of a chance, so haven’t paid much attention to him. Earlier in the campaign, I took a few of those “select a candidate” questionnaires, and found that Duncan Hunter & Fred Thompson were my top choices (usually tied), but both of those candidates have dropped out before I have even had a chance to vote.

So enough of that rabbit-chasing. Right now, my choices are between Mike Huckabee and Ron Paul, with John McCain as a possibility until and unless I find out more about him that I don’t like. If Mitt Romney wins, I’m probably going to have to sit out the general election, unfortunately (or cast a write-in vote). As much as I dislike the idea of someone as liberal as either Hilary Clinton or Barack Obama, I don’t think I can in good conscience vote for someone who is just a notch above them. Does that make me a single-issue voter? To some people, it probably does. I formulate my vote on a lot of different factors, and it may very be that my vote will end up being “none of the above,” because there is no one close enough to my views without being too distasteful on other issues that are very important to me.

What is the most important issue to you? Does that not affect your vote? There are people who are committed to voting for the most pro-abortion or pro-environmental or pro-education or pro-homosexual or this or that other issue. Does that make them a single-issue voter? Does it devalue their vote or their thinking and/or reasoning process? I may very well have to shut my eyes, pinch my nose and vote for somebody who is less than my ideal candidate. We’ll see who’s still around by the time my state votes, and then further refine it when we see who the top candidate is from each party (as well as any third-party candidates that might have jumped in the race).

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dayzofrain said, on February 6, 2008 at 7:04 am

    I understand completely where this blog is coming from in a personal view as I pretty much agree whole-heartedly with most of your assessments— esp about Romney and his “conversion”.

    I took those tests as well and while Huckabee is more in line with my views in general, I don’t feel as though he would do well against any of the democratic possibilities and even if he did that he would work with the dems in the House and Senate. While McCain is more moderate and has stood firmly where he believes is right and I respect that as well as his knowledge and experience in the military (as my husband is active duty and the commander in chief is especially important). I respect that when he supports policy he does so against the grain (like the surge) if it is really is something he believes will work. I think that as far as the war–he has presented more of a realistic view instead of making high promises (which shows his understanding of military issues) like many of the other canidates on both sides of the ticket. Hes not as strong in economic issues as I’d like but I hope that he will take that into consideration when/if he chooses a running mate.

    My grandmother called me the other day (shes registered Dem for as long as I can remember) and kind of whispered to me that she wouldn’t vote for either Obama or Clinton–that when it comes down to it she’ll vote McCain because of his experience and realistic outlook! I was so surprised I was silent!

    This certainly will make for a *very* interesting election year!!


Leave a Reply

