Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Migraines

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on February 22, 2008

I’ve never had a migraine, so I can only imagine what it must be like; but several people I know suffer with them with some regularity, so I keep my eyes open for some methods of relief.

In the past, I’ve seen some things about foods that may trigger migraines. One guy finally figured out that his favorite dish at his favorite restaurant trigged migraines (I think it was the vinegar in the salad dressing); but different people have different triggers. The way to figure this out would be to keep track of what you eat, and when you have migraines, and see if there is a connection. The difficulty would be if it is a “hidden” ingredient like MSG or some artificial color or flavoring–it might be hard to narrow it down. But the pain of a migraine is a pretty strong incentive to try!

One of my friends realized that her migraines were at least partially hormonal (usually striking about the same time of her cycle), and that they were helped by regular chiropractic adjustments.

Then this morning, I read something in a little magazine my husband’s health insurance company sends out. It was talking about a new, non-surgical treatment for holes in the heart. Since I had this as a baby, and had two heart surgeries to fix it, I always read things like this. What I had was ventricular septal defect, which is one or more holes in the wall that divides the lower chambers of the heart. Without surgery, I would have died as a baby or child, so I always assumed that these things were taken care of in infancy. However, this was the story of two older people who had atrial septal defect, which is a hole in the wall that divides the upper chamber of the heart. Apparently, this defect is more common, because the hole is present in all fetuses and only closes after the baby is born, once he breathes air with his lungs, instead of relying on his umbilical cord for oxygen. And of course, sometimes the hole doesn’t close. The end of the article stated that people who have had migraines and had this treatment found that their migraines greatly diminished or totally went away after the procedure. While there haven’t been any trials done on this, the author mentioned that it might be studied soon. In the meantime, it’s food for thought if you have migraines.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. catspring said, on February 22, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Very interesting blog. The hip bone is definitely connected to the leg bone. . .

    As a homeopath, I find that migraines are often hormonally driven, but can also be the result of suppressed emotions, constipation, a sluggish liver, etc. Lots of held in states and stasis in the body. My approach is classical homeopathy, a detox and nutritional support. My client often, then, finds it beneficial to seek counseling of some manner once the lid on Pandora’s box has been lifted.

    We are truly magical beings living harmoniously or not within the Dance of Life.

    Cathleen Springer
    http://www.cathleenspringer.com

  2. Marshelle said, on March 21, 2008 at 2:37 am

    I am 19 years old and have suffered with migraines since I was 10 years old.Recently I was diagnosed with an atrial septal defect.I have not undergone the surgery yet but I hope it helps with my migraine headaches.

  3. Bora said, on January 18, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    An informative article. Thanks for sharing your experience with fellow readers. If the defects are small say less than 0.5 square cm which is quiet common, there is less reason to worry. If the VSD is large generally greater than 1 sqaure cm, then there is a reason to worry. This is because there is a significant shunting of blood from the left ventricle into the right ventricle. The symptoms in the child are labored breathing, difficulty feeding, grow poorly. Parents should watch out for these. Source: http://www.medicalsingapore.com/SeptalDefect.html


Leave a Reply

