Kathy Petersen’s Blog

As a Christian….

Posted in abortion, Christianity by Kathy on February 26, 2008

If you’ve checked out my other blogs, you know that I am a “birth junkie.” I’m on a few email lists related to that, and recently the subject was pregnant women who had been advised to abort their babies for known or suspected anomalies (the ultrasounds were wrong, the babies were all fine). In phrasing my post on that thread, I said something along the lines of “as a Christian I’m opposed to abortion.” One of the women took exception to that phrase.

For context, I’d say that most of the women on these lists are liberals or at least left-leaning, but it seems that this particular list has a lot more centrists or conservatives on it. (We don’t get into politics too much, but some people include on their “signatures” the name of a particular Presidential candidate, or occasionally make quasi-political remarks–you know, little things like that.)

This woman that took exception to it is a pro-abortion lesbian minister in the Anglican church. So she considers herself a Christian, but I’m not sure which version of the Bible she reads that lets her feel comfortable living the lesbian lifestyle, not to mention supporting abortion and being a “minister.” She (in very broad terms, very graciously) chided me for my statement, reminding the list that “not all Christians believe the same way,” and adding gratuitously something about violence done by anti-abortion people. I let it drop, but it still rankles me.

There is nothing wrong with what I said. Not only do I stand by the statement that Christians should be opposed to abortion, but even if so-called Christians can support abortion, my beliefs as a Christian–what I believe the Bible to teach–prohibit my support of abortion, and demand that I oppose it. My statement shows nothing more than what I found my beliefs on. Other people might say “as a woman, I support abortion,” or “as an environmentalist I oppose the burning of fossil fuels.” Not every woman supports abortion; not every environmentalist opposes fossil fuels. In fact, I will insert here a reminder about “Mr. Global Warming” former VP Al Gore who uses more energy for his house in a month than most people do in a year; and all the people who have gas-guzzling SUVs instead of motorcycles or bicycles. They may say that they oppose fossil fuels, but their behavior shows them to be liars. But statements like this merely show the basis for the belief.

On what other grounds could I voice my opposition? That human life is sacred, even in embryonic form. Yes. But what about the people who believe that human life is not sacred–that we are just the products of evolution, and only slightly higher than the animals; or those who believe that only humans who have been fully born have the right to life? There are a multitude of arguments that people who support or oppose abortion use for their position. One might even argue, “As a feminist, I oppose abortion,” because one might see the dreadful consequences that frequently happen to women who have abortions. Among these are death and severe injury, even in legal abortions; or increased risk of suicide and depression, and other physical problems, such as increased risk of future miscarriage, etc.; not to mention the fact that a high percentage of women have abortions at the insistence or coercion of their boyfriends, which lets men have sex without the fear of pregnancy, while women still end up pregnant and then are subjected to the risks of abortion. This would be a valid argument, although most feminists support abortion.

So, when I wrote that original post, it was not to imply that all Christians fall lock-step into the same belief system–I wish it were so, though! All the denominations and schisms and separation among Christians is distasteful to me….but to join ranks with denominations and individual “Christians” who see no problem whatsoever in going against the Bible is abhorrent. We each must appear before God and give account of ourselves. But I must follow the Bible as closely as I can; and I must set my belief systems in alignment with what the Bible teaches, and not bend the clear teaching of the Bible to fit my preconceived notions. So, as a Christian, I do and believe a lot of things. I trust that I can point to one or more verses in the Bible that back up these actions and beliefs.

Leave a Reply

