Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Be careful what you teach your kindergartners!

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on March 18, 2008

While I’m sure this is not a unique experience, my husband is able to quote songs and poems he learned in kindergarten. So be extremely careful what you teach your sponges children. 🙂 Here is one such poem, which I was inspired to write down because I couldn’t find it by using Google. I thought somebody else may like it, or possibly even be looking for it, only remembering part of it and desperate to know the rest. If anybody knows who wrote it, or if there is any more of this, feel free to let me know.

A swing, a swing is the best of fun

For taking a ride in the sky.

You need no engine for a ride,

Just give a push and away you glide.

Look out below,

Away you go,

Taking a ride in the sky.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rene McKay said, on May 30, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I love this – my mother taught it to me and I sang it to myself throughout my childhood and way beyond – I just googled and thank you!

    I never knew the Author… anon…

    Great to confirm … Rene McKay

    • Kathy said, on May 30, 2009 at 1:52 pm

      I’m glad you were able to find this — it’s why I wrote it. I was beginning to think that my husband was the only person in the world who remembered/knew it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

