Kathy Petersen’s Blog

‘No’ means ‘yes’

Posted in children by Kathy on April 14, 2008

Ah, the joys of motherhood! My almost-2-y/o son won’t say “yes.” Occasionally, he says “sure.” I ask him if he wants juice, and he says, “No! Juice!” while eagerly grabbing for it. The hard part is, that a lot of the time “no” does actually mean “no.” And I can’t figure out which is which, surprisingly.

I’m working on it, though. I’m listening to him very closely, and trying to figure out if there is some intonation I’m missing, but so far, I’m coming up empty. Pretty frustrating.

And then, when I ask him if he wants something (toy, drink, food, whatever) and he says, “no,” and I try to give it to him anyway when this time “no” meant “no,” then he gets mad and (depending on his mood) pushes it away, turns his head, screams and throws himself in the floor, etc. But if “no” meant “yes” and I don’t give it to him, if instead I just put it back, then he gets mad and (depending on his mood)
pushes it away, turns his head, screams and throws himself in the floor, etc. Sigh….

Leave a Reply

