Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Yogurt Update

Posted in frugal by Kathy on April 24, 2008

I needed to make biscuits yesterday. (My husband likes a sausage and biscuit every morning as a late breakfast, so if I don’t send him one, he buys one. It’s most definitely cost-effective to make them and freeze them!) This recipe is the best that I’ve ever made, but to be honest, I’ve not tried all that many other recipes — once I found this recipe, what was the point of making any others? (If you think you’ve got a better recipe, try mine and if yours is better, let me know!) The recipe calls for buttermilk, which I didn’t have. I did, however, have home-made yogurt that I needed to use, so I decided to try it to see how it worked. Here’s the original recipe:

Old-Fashioned Biscuits
2&1/2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. soda
½ tsp. salt
6 Tbsp. chilled butter
1 c. buttermilk
Combine all dry ingredients; cut in butter until it is cut into small pieces. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture then add the buttermilk all at once and combine with a fork just until mixed. Roll out onto a floured surface and cut into biscuits. Bake at 425° for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. These biscuits are best warm from the oven. You can make your own biscuit mix by combining everything except the buttermilk and storing the mixture in the refrigerator until you want to make the biscuits, and then use part of the mixture. This makes about 3&1/2 cups of mix.

Since the yogurt is a lot thicker than buttermilk, I used a heaping cup of yogurt.  It did great! In fact, I think they might have even been better. They were a bit more golden brown than they usually are.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. vigilant20 said, on April 24, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I never thought of using yogurt as a substitute for anything. I make my own too (I wussed out and got a cheapo machine though) and am always excited to find new things to do with it.

  2. Moranna said, on March 1, 2010 at 10:45 am

    It’s amazing what you can do with yoghourt – but never tried it with biscuit mix before. Will give your recipe a go!!


Leave a Reply

