Kathy Petersen’s Blog

That’ll wake you up in the morning!

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on April 29, 2008

Yesterday, I noticed that the coupling that joins the cold-water pipe for the washing machine to the rest of the water supply was leaking, so I fixed it. Apparently, I dislodged just enough the coupling that joins the hot-water pipe. Sometime in the middle of the night, the pressure from the water made the CPVC pipe slip out of the coupling, so all of our hot water ran out (although the water heater was, I am sure, desperately trying to heat the running water, so we should have a nice gas bill for this month). This morning, there was almost zero pressure for hot water, so my husband got a very cold shower. It’s about 41 degrees right now, so I’m guessing the water temperature was about that. Brrrrrrrrr!!! And I got to run next door to the neighbor’s house to get the water-meter key to turn our water off. Which I did in bare feet. Brrrrrr!!! Hopefully, everything’s fixed now, but I’ll be checking it often to make sure the couplings are still holding. I had just replaced the hot-water coupling a few months ago when it started leaking, so I know it shouldn’t be worn out. Adventures in home ownership!

Leave a Reply

