Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Allergic no more!

Posted in children, frugal by Kathy on May 2, 2008

I had written about my son having a bumpy rash on his back when I switched to the homemade laundry detergent. Well, I stopped washing his clothes in it for a few weeks, and then went back to it. His rash cleared up finally when I stopped using the detergent. Then I started using it again, and he got it back, but not as bad. I kept up using it (mostly because I wanted to see if it would get worse, or possibly get better — it obviously wasn’t making him itch or anything, so I could live with the bumps), and the bumps are all gone!

Now, if only we could get rid of the allergies to Red Dye #40…. I had some cherry-flavored Hershey’s Kisses, and I didn’t realize they had red 40 in it. Sure enough, a few minutes after eating them, my stomach started hurting again. I had also given some to my older son, and that night he scratched his nose until it bled. Poor guy! He hasn’t done that in a while, so I knew that he had gotten red 40 on his hands and face. I washed his hands and face really well, and he stopped scratching. In the morning he didn’t even have a scab. Gotta read labels….

Leave a Reply

