Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Bye-bye, ‘nail!

Posted in children by Kathy on August 8, 2008

I took the boys out with me while I was doing some stuff around the yard, so I could keep an eye on them. I saw that they discovered something under a rock, and went to check it out with them. Keith said, “Look, mommy — a snail!” Sure enough, it was, plus a bunch of roly-polys too. I identified those for him, and went back to my task. When I was finished, I went back to the boys, where Keith was covering up something with bits of grass he had just pulled up. I’m not sure if he was trying to hide what he’d done, or if he was trying to give the poor snail a proper burial, or if he was just being a little kid and doing the first thing that popped into his mind. Anyway, I asked him if he’d smashed the snail, and he agreed that he had. Of course I admonished him for killing things without a purpose (but didn’t explain that had that same poor snail slithered its way into my kitchen, I would’ve dumped salt on him in a heartbeat!), and told the kids it was time to go inside for naps. As he was leaving, my 2-year-old (Seth) said, “Bye-bye, ‘nail! See ‘morrow!!” Poor kid, didn’t realize the snail wasn’t going to see anybody any time any more!

Leave a Reply

