Kathy Petersen’s Blog

I am not Samantha

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on August 9, 2008

For some reason, a lot of my spam emails lately have been addressed to somebody named Samantha. At first, I assumed it was just one of those things where they send out millions of emails with thousands of different names in them, just hoping that some of the emails will actually reach the people who happen to have the name in the subject line. But this is happening all the time now. I’m thinking that what must have happened is that at some point, I put my email address into a comment on a blog owned by Samantha or something, and the spam engines picked up my address and paired it with the blog owner or some other person’s name on the page, and spewed it out.

So, if I know it’s spam, why do I even check the folder? Because sometimes non-spam email is delivered there by accident, and I want to make sure I don’t miss out on an email I actually wanted. Besides, it just takes a few seconds to scan the spam folder every day, and I can handle that.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

