Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Why to vote Democrat

Posted in politics by Kathy on September 22, 2008

I received this via email, and while I haven’t tried to verify if #13 is accurate, I definitely agree with the other 12!

  Thirteen (13) Reasons to Vote Democrat

1. I’m voting Democrat because I believe the government will do a better job of spending the money I earn than I would.

2. I’m voting Democrat because freedom of speech is fine as long as nobody is offended by it.

3. I’m voting Democrat because when we pull out of Iraq I trust that the bad guys will stop what they’re doing because they now think we’re good people.


4. I’m voting Democrat because I believe that people who can’t tell us if it will rain on Friday CAN tell us that the polar ice caps will melt away in ten years if I don’t start driving a Prius.


5. I’m voting Democrat because I want to keep paying to keep all death row inmates alive.


6. I’m voting Democrat because I want to keep my borders wide open because we don’t have enough crime here already.


7. I’m voting Democrat because our taxes are not high enough.


8. I’m voting Democrat because I think every person is entitled to FREE education, FREE insurance, FREE food, FREE housing and any other things that I have worked for all my life.


9. I’m voting Democrat because I believe that business should not be allowed to make profits for themselves. They need to break even and give the rest away to the government for redistribution as THEY see fit.


10. I’m voting Democrat because I believe three or four pointy headed elitist liberals need to rewrite the Constitution every few days to suit some fringe kooks who would NEVER get their agendas past the voters.


11. I’m voting Democrat because I believe that, when the terrorists don’t have to hide from us over there, when they come over here, I don’t want to have any guns in the house to fight them off with.


12. I’m voting Democrat because I love the fact that I can now marry whatever I want.   I’ve decided to marry my horse.


13. I’m voting Democrat because I believe oil companies’ profits of 4% on a gallon of gas are obscene but the government taxing the same gallon of gas at 15% isn’t.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sheila said, on September 22, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    1 through 100:

    I’m voting Democrat because I don’t won’t 4 more years of George Bush, and Republican failure in running this country.

    Pity the school system, largely the brain-child of Democrats, has failed to provide you with the education to realize that what you meant to say is that you don’t *want* 4 more years of George Bush. You may not have noticed, but he’s not running this time around, so he wouldn’t be running the country anyway. It’s unconstitutional for him to have more than 2 terms. And, in case you didn’t know, the economy rebounded after the tremendous hit it took after 9/11, but has gone down ever since the Democrats were in control of Congress. The Republicans and Bush have had plenty of mistakes, to be sure, but they’re better than the Democrats.

  2. Kurt said, on September 22, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Very funny.
    Of course, all those republican talking-points are hugely in error, but don’t let the facts get in your way…

    So glad I could amuse you. It’s what I live for. -Kathy

  3. Tammie said, on September 29, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Hey that’s a funny list but as I was reading it I thought voting Republican also means a lot of the same things. I’m having a hard time seeing much of a difference in either party lately. Both are for way to big very unconstitutional government. I have been seriously looking at the Constitution party candidate. I feel like there has to be some candidates out there that will actually try to defend and uphold the constitution. Isn’t that what the people really want? Can’t we put our foot down and get what we really want by banding together instead of being played by the media and pundits “pretending” that the two main parties disagree on what really matters. If you ask me in the long run they are one in the same. Now of course if this Sara Palin lady could get the republicans to return to what their original platform stood for that could be exciting. But really doesn’t the Vice President pretty much just wait for the President to die?

    Yes, there is not quite as much difference between the two parties as I’d like. Historically, the office of the Vice President has been compared to “a bucket of warm spit” (I forget which VP said that, but I think it was during the 1800s, perhaps Jefferson, since he became VP after losing to John Adams — under the Constitution originally the #1 guy got the Pres while the #2 guy became the VP — it quickly changed!). But I think that Cheney has certainly had an influence on Bush; and I think the role of VP changed a bit with that. We’ll see what it looks like with Palin in the spot, hopefully. (Not that I am so much wanting McCain to win as I hope Obama loses — his voiced opinions are much worse than McCain’s, imo.) And I see that Palin is more conservative than McCain, which will hopefully put conservative ideals more in national prominence again.

  4. Tammie said, on October 2, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    You will vote for someone you don’t like to prevent someone you don’t like even more from winning? I have played into that same type of reasoning and I don’t want to any more. I think that it has just gotten us to where we are at. If we vote the lesser of evils we still get evil. Check this out http://www.votebuddy.com/ I think it’s a great idea!

    Yeah, that’s a pretty good idea. I’ll have to scrounge up a liberal I actually know in my state to make it work. 🙂 The “no-buddy” vote reminds me of that Richard Pryor movie “Brewster’s Millions” which includes him *not* running for mayor, but instead campaigning on voting “none of the above.” The problem with 3rd party candidates is that there are so many that draw off votes, but not enough to make themselves significant — at least partly because there isn’t a united 3rd party — Ross Perot had the best chance in ’92, I think. I wonder what would happen if there was a majority of votes for “none of the above”? If the two major candidates (in this case, obama & mccain) couldn’t run again, but others had to? That could get pretty interesting! 🙂
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

