Kathy Petersen’s Blog

Cheeky little mouse!

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on November 16, 2008

Last night my cat (Bear) brought a live mouse into our house through his cat door. Of course, I immediately called my knight in shining armor to come down and dispose of the little critter. Before he got down, though, the cat had dropped and recaptured the mouse at least once, and then dropped it again. The mouse didn’t run. The cheeky little thing stood up on its back paws and chattered and scolded the cat like you wouldn’t believe! Not being fluent in mouse, I didn’t understand what he said, of course, but I daresay that had I understood, I shouldn’t repeat it! And then, the mouse bit Bear on the nose. It was the funniest thing I’d seen all day!

My husband came down directly and grabbed the mouse (which didn’t appear to be harmed) with a wadded-up pillowcase to protect his hand from being scratched or bitten, and let it go outside. Hopefully, Bear won’t bring any other treasures into the house, dead or alive.

Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. finickyfeline2 said, on November 16, 2008 at 3:28 am

    My cats name is Bear too! That’s a cute lil’ story.

    Thanks! My husband named him when he was a kitten, because he liked to stretch out on his tummy, with his forepaws in front and his back paws behind, like a bear rug. He still does that sometimes.


Leave a Reply

